The Autobiography of an ELA Teacher

Below is a link to a video project I recently completed, in which I explore some of the texts that have significantly contributed to the type of pre-service ELA teacher I am today. It also discusses how I may incorporate those same texts in my own classroom one day.

It is so important to note that “text” is not always a book or even text that is written, and that the most significant texts in our lives are not often the ones that we studied in a classroom setting. Why not? Perhaps it is about choice and the ownership of that choice. We remember and connect most with texts that we choose to read. This is so relevant to me. In my own teaching, I want to allow students to have as much choice as possible in what they read…otherwise I do not expect to be as successful in fostering a love of reading that is genuine and long-lasting. Ultimately I want students to explore texts in a variety of modes or genres that are best suited to them, without my interference.

Leave a Reply

